Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Same picture, different message…what lens we bring, what we think, what we are listening for determines what we see, what we hear and what we think.

Pope Francis received an exuberant reception before addressing a joint meeting of Congress on Thursday.

Francis in America

Pope Francis, in Congress, Pleads for Unity on World’s Woes

By PETER BAKER and JIM YARDLEY

Speaking to lawmakers on Thursday, the pope issued a call to action on issues largely favored by liberals, including a critique of the excesses of capitalism and a defense of immigration.

Did you watch the speech the Pope gave at Congress yesterday?  I did and I was really surprised when I read my New York Times this morning.  I saw the same picture but I did not hear the critical message that the Times reported.  I heard a compassionate message of hope, unity and healing.

What did you hear?  Please comment below so we can compare notes…

This can tell us a lot about how the media affects the news and shapes our opinions of what we think is happening in the world.

Our opinions also tells something about us.

